2018 Wheels of Freedom Motor Show

Event Report: 2018 Wheels of Freedom Motor Show                                         July 4, 2018

What a wonderful Independence Day, 4th of July, 2018! As is usual in SoCal the July morning started cool and clear, warming to a comfortable mid 80’s temperature by 11:00 o’clock. The volunteer setup crew of 8-10 arrived before 6:00 AM and set about getting ready to greet the day. The setup crew, including Chuck & Jenny Bush, Ed and Carol Asbury, Earl Asbury, Joyce Cowman, Mike Petermann, Chris Cowman and a couple of others got the registration area organized and suitably decorated. Almost immediately cool cars and nice people began arriving so by the official opening time of 7:00 AM we already had 15-20 cars parked.

The show could not have been a success without the efforts of a great group of volunteers: Joyce Cowman, Brenda Grinceri, and Drew Cowman settled in to handle the registration chores; Mike Petermann, Joe Musick, Sam Grinceri, Brock Ortega, and Victor Scalco, handled parking direction; Earl Asbury and John Wessels set up Earls PA System and kept the music going all day; Carol and Ed Asbury got the T-Shirts and Event plaques organized. Later in the morning, Gerrie Griffin got the ballot counting organized with help from Ed Asbury, Pat Kramer, and Jerry Reed.  There was also a lot of just “extra hands” to help when needed, in particular with the setup and when it came time to take everything down and cleanup: Bill & Peggy Troop, Chuck & Jenny Bush, Jerry Badders, Chris Cowman (Donuts) , Bill Avery, John McDowell, Vicki Williams, Travis Williams, and Chuck Kramer.

By 7:00 AM the registration team was in full operation.  By 9:00 AM they had checked in 119 participants and their vehicles, distributed the 35 T-shirts and event plaques that has been pre-ordered, and all the party crashers (not pre-registered cars). The 50/50 Opportunity Drawing got a good start with Carol and Ed Asbury circulating through the show offering chances for a donation to Spirit of the Fourth, Inc. In addition, by 12:00 noon, another 22 T-Shirts and event plaques had also been distributed in exchange for donations to the Spirit of the Fourth, Inc.

Voting for the 26 trophies to be awarded was brisk, with over 225 ballots cast by the 11:30 AM deadline. Gerrie and his team counted all the votes and determined the winners. The awards ceremony started at 1:15 PM as planned. Awards were presented as follows:

AWARD OF EXCELLENCE winners: (Voted by Poway Cruiser participants)

Mark Pilch, 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air HT

Denise & Jim Payne, 1942 Ford Business Coupe

Bob & Liz Brown, 1959 Chevrolet Corvette

Sam & Donna Rindskopf, 1957 Chevrolet Nomad

Jim Wayman, 1932 Ford Tow Truck

Jay Christopher, 1934 Ford 2W Coupe

Bob Fria, 1968 Mercury Cougar GT-E

Douglas McMurray, 1948 Ford Convertible

Mike Eberle, 1934 Chevrolet Master Deluxe

Dale Vermillion, 1967 Chevrolet Corvette

Stu & Donna Shandle, 1956 Chevrolet Bel Air HT

Byron & Cathy Baum, 1950 Ford Coupe

Cathi Bass, 1970 Plymouth Baracuda

Everett & Sue Shackelton, 1934 Ford Tudor

Ralph Richardson, 1940 Buick Super Coupe

Ralph Middleton, 1992 Ford Mustang LX

Mile Neu, 1963 Chevrolet Corvette

Glenn Rogers, 1957 Ford Ranchero

Craig & Bonnie Huckins, 1967 Chevrolet Nova SS

CJ Stonebreaker, 1967 Ford Fairlane 500

People’s Choice Awards winners: (voted by show spectators)

Carole & Douglas Gates, 1921 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost

Sam Lewis, 2011 Chevrolet Corvette

Alex Lawn, 2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Goodguys Rep Pick winner: (Selected by the Goodguys R&C Association Rep)

Mike Boehmke, 1932 Ford Roadster

Best Decorated winner:

J D. Duncan, 1962 Chevrolet Corvette Roadster

Best Poway Cruiser winner: (voted by non-Poway Cruiser participants)

Chuck Kramer, 1928 Chevrolet Touring

Best of Show winner: (Most Award of Excellence Votes)

Frank Leamy, 1947 Chrysler Woody Convertible

The show ended by 2:00 PM, and the cleanup crew took over. Everything was packed up, cleaned up, and cleared away by 2:30PM.

Once again, the Poway Cruisers brought the fun, and a great time was had by all. Now we start planning for next year, the 50th Anniversary of the Rancho Bernardo Spirit of the Fourth Celebration.

Reported by:
George Cowman
2018 Wheels of Freedom Motor Show

Comments are closed.